Five tips for finding more time to write!

Last week, a writer friend of mine asked me how I find time to write when I am also working full time and bringing up children. The answer is – I do it because I have to. There are usually a few hours here and there that you can grab each week. I sometimes get up an hour or two early, sometimes stay up past midnight. I love the weekends, as I can usually manage a couple of hours. And then there are the blessed days off! I really look forward to those. I usually set myself a writing project to do during the holidays. I like to have goals.

So the bottom line is – we are all super busy, but there are still 24 hours in a day. In the end, it’s how we choose to use them that counts. If you need to write, then you will make the time. You might have to give up on TV, going out so much, even sleep. But sometimes writing is more important than anything else. If you too face the same time conflicts good luck.

My five tips for finding more writing time are:

1 Try to avoid jobs you really don’t need to do. Give yourself permission to spend time writing

2 Try to delegate more of the house-work – perhaps get a cleaner. After all, anyone can clean, but only you can write down your own ideas

3 If you feel like some down-time, instead of watching TV or playing computer games, spend time writing down some of your ideas. You might feel tired at first, but once you get into it you’ll be surprised at what you can achieve!

4 Can’t sleep? Perhaps that’s a good time to do some writing. The house is quiet, your mind won’t settle down, so why not?

5 Carry a notebook/tablet with you so you can jot down your thoughts and ideas wherever you are – on the bus, waiting in a doctor’s surgery, anywhere!

Write on

Leave a Reply

