How to make an audiobook – the narrator’s perspective

audiobooks picture

I love audiobooks! For me it is a great way of accessing books – no light needed, no tired eyes, no having to hold a book or device with tired arms at the end of the day, just a chance to immerse yourself in the story.

Of course, it is vital that the story is narrated well, but I have rarely been disappointed with the books I have listened to lately. More often than not, the narrators are extremely impressive, some of them funny (in a good way – for example, check out Richard Armitage reading Georgette Heyer – hilarious). Occasionally, some are perhaps a little too theatrical, and some completely miss the nuances of the sentence (I have only come across this twice), but generally, the narrators are great.

I have been wondering about the process of creating the audiobooks. I assumed it would take a lot of patience and attention to detail. Here is a great interview about what it is like to be a narrator:

http://www.happilyeverafterthoughts.com/2015/04/interview-with-wendy-anne-darling.html

One of these days, I’d love to be able to hear some of my books in audiobook form, so I will be looking more into this topic in the future. If anyone has any useful tips or can share their experiences about making their books into audiobooks, I would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “How to make an audiobook – the narrator’s perspective

  1. Pingback: Audiobook News & Reviews: 04/18-04/20 | ListenUp Audiobooks

Leave a Reply

