Encouraging the right people to review your book (and avoiding some of the pitfalls) #writers #writing #authors #book #review

five star download

So you’ve published your book – you love it – but what about everyone else? How do you find people to give you a review, and what should you watch out for?

In my case, I’ve only just started indie publishing in the last few months, and I’m stepping warily into to the realm of promoting my books and finding the readers I’ve been writing for. It’s hard when you’re an unknown author to build credibility and find a market, and I’m hoping to avoid some of the pitfalls. Insights such as those in this great (blisteringly honest) blogpost by Terry Tyler are a great help.

http://ukartsdirectory.com/terry-tylers-literary-blog-29/

I have never been good at blowing my own trumpet, so I haven’t solicited any reviews yet (nor do I intend to). However, I would love to get some constructive feedback on my writing, and to find ways to create the best stories I can. I looked first at goodreads as that is where many readers gather. And through the blogosphere I’m trying to find people who write and read in my genre (contemporary and historical sexy romance). I know it will take a while, but at least I know that I have done my best to achieve a professional product (through beta-readers and professional editing). With any luck, readers looking for a good read in my genre will enjoy the fresh viewpoint and not wish to ‘abandon it’. Here’s hoping my books will get the reviews they deserve (and ones that will help me to find ways to improve).

Having said that, it is worth being wary of reviewers or beta readers who just want something different. One of my first beta-readers got back to me with comments like, don’t like the name you used for the heroine, the hero, the villain and the book – all too common… I looked into it, and couldn’t find the evidence to back up her assertions. Turns out Cara, Cameron and Raoul are not all that common in romances. So while it is important to consider all feedback, some may need to be taken with a pinch of salt. Everyone has their own opinion, and no one person will ever be completely right.

Leave a Reply

