A good day! Use positive feedback to build resilience #positive #feedback #writers #resilience

five star download

One of my beta readers just finished my sixth book, ‘Temptation’ and described it as A Masterpiece (and said many other complimentary things besides). I am still blushing.

I was not expecting that – I had actually been wondering if it was a bit subdued (there are no sex scenes – shock horror). Just goes to show that you don’t always know what people will make of your books. Obviously the reader in question is a literary genius and I am now going to have to do my best to avoid a swelled head. (Although to be honest, I think the description is a bit steep. I would be happy with ‘surprisingly good’.)

It is lovely to get such positive feedback. It has spurred me on to make more effort to get my next three books out there. The manuscripts are all essentially finished and just in various stages of editing. So I should get a shift on, at least with the first one ‘Isabel’s Choice’.

The only thing that needs a serious rethink for ‘Temptation’ (which is second in the series) is the title. It is not right – I have thought that for some time but nothing else has stuck. I am working on a new title and will ask my betas for suggestions.

But back to the positive feedback. It is good to have a small store of it – I’m expecting I will need it to bolster my spirits when the negative reviews start to arrive. I am sure they will eventually – not everyone likes the same writing style and stories.

I have never been good at dealing with negative criticism, it is hard not to take it personally. So my best tip is – expect criticism. It will come. And when it does, try to remember all the good things that people have said and let that counterbalance the bad. With any luck, the good will far outweigh the bad. But whatever happens – make sure you savor the good.

2 thoughts on “A good day! Use positive feedback to build resilience #positive #feedback #writers #resilience

Leave a Reply

