Temptation bundling – a transformational idea! #procrastination #efficiency #writing #living #improving #jamesclear

yesssssss

I learnt a new term this week and it is something that resonates strongly with me. Something that I think will change my life.

I love it because

  1. it makes sense, and
  2. it is something I can do fairly easily.

I’m not sure why I didn’t think of it before, but now that I have I know it will make a difference.

What is it?

maxresdefault

It’s called ‘Temptation Bundling’.

How does it work? Basically, make a list of some of the things you need to do but keep putting off – you know, those things that have made you into the queen or king of procrastination. Make a list of them, then make a column alongside and list some of the things you do to reward yourself. Things that you love and really want to spend time on.

Temptation bundling is about making a bargain with yourself – “if you go for a 20 minute walk, then you will deserve to have a couple of pieces of chocolate”, or “if you finish your tax return, you can book that holiday you have been wanting” or “if you finish proof-reading that chapter, you can take some time out to watch your favourite dvd.” That sort of thing. You raise the stakes on some of your choices, you work for the things you want (and get things done along the way).

Check out James Clear’s great blog article at http://jamesclear.com/temptation-bundling

I think this will work for me – I wonder if you already do something like this, or if it is something you are planning to start doing. Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Temptation bundling – a transformational idea! #procrastination #efficiency #writing #living #improving #jamesclear

  1. Pingback: The ‘Two Minute Rule’ – Using time wisely Part 2 #timemanagement #time #efficiency #writing | Emily Arden, author

Leave a Reply

