Thoughts on a Page.

Great post Allan Walsh – I relate to so much of this… Sometimes it is hard to find the energy for writing after a full day at work, then minding kids, etc. There are some times in my life when I am getting lots of writing done and it feels fantastic, vs the times when the doldrums hit.
Check out the first comment from Wayne Halm too – some great insights there:
“Social Media is a black hole that will eventually consume all of the time in the Universe.”
Very true, although I will add the proviso that social media can also be a rewarding black hole (just needs to be used judiciously, perhaps like chocolate sprinkles on coffee – not so much that the ‘writing’ stops being coffee… and the chocolate takes over).
“Some days my story gets longer – other days it gets better.”
And on the really good days my story gets longer (ie more complete) AND better 🙂

Allan Walsh - Author

Photo by Renaud Camus Photo by Renaud Camus

Sometimes I feel like I’m pushing forwards in leaps and bounds with my writing, and then there are the times when I feel like I haven’t done a thing. I fall into the later of the two scenarios at the moment. I know what to do, I know how to do it, I just can’t be stuffed doing it right now.

I come home from work, cream crackered after sitting in front of a computer for 8 hours. I force myself to sit at my home computer for a few hours more. There are distractions everywhere, pulling my attention from the task at hand – my writing. Then there’s the ‘work’ us authors do. The blog posts, the e-mails, FB, reading, critiquing. It all takes us away from our writing. I seem to be constantly asking myself, “Am I making excuses not to write?” I know the answer to that question is yes, sometimes. Other times I’m just too tired…

View original post 165 more words

Leave a Reply

