Are you a new author dreaming of a trad publishing deal? #tradpublishing #indie #newauthor #writing #support #books

TWL-Flow-Chart-Featured

What would you say if you were offered a trad publishing deal? Would you break out the champagne? Is that your idea of nirvana? If it is, then it’s worth being aware of some of the possible pitfalls.

I found this article really useful, especially as it is from someone with such a long experience of publishing in many different ways. I’d love to know what you think of it.

http://www.deanwesleysmith.com/the-new-world-of-publishing-the-real-price-of-traditional-publishing/

There are some important messages in there – in particular, if you do get offered a trad. publishing deal, be very careful about the small print. For example: “If we sell life-of-copyright to a novel to a major traditional publisher, we may NOT BE ABLE TO GET IT BACK.” Probably until 70 years after our death (even after the publishing company have lost interest)

From my perspective, I’m an Indie at heart. I feel I’ve found the place I want to be. Still a long way to go, but at least I know where myself and my books are going. And I will be keeping my copyright and taking responsibility for whatever I have to, and getting professionals to help add value in areas where I am not so proficient. At least I know that most of what I deliver will be down to me. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

