Something Nice from Nice

What a wonderful post. I especially like the quote “But here’s where I really got my money’s worth: the alone time. When you are alone – when you away from all the voices in your life – you get into a zone where you can start to believe in yourself. Your daydreams start to look like achievable goals, because there’s no one around to argue with you, to contradict you. No one to say that maybe you should downsize and reach for treetops instead of the stars.” I love time alone – it is inspiring and re-energising after the whirl of normality. My Nice is Deep Creek in South Australia.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

I’m in Nice.

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you’ll know that this isn’t my first time in Nice. For 6-8 weeks every Autumn for three years beginning in 2011 – I’ll give you a moment to catch your breath after that weird sentence construction – I came here, supposedly, to write. That sounds very decadent, I know, but I was living with my parents at the time and had no real financial responsibilities. (Now I have rent to pay in Dublin “The Rent On This Telephone Box Will Make Your Eyes Water” City and university fees to cover, so it all balances out.) Plus the work I was doing was freelance, so all I needed to do it was a laptop and an internet connection. 

nicecollage2

In 2009, I’d rented a somewhat isolated holiday home near the sea in East Cork for a six week period that started…

View original post 1,491 more words

Leave a Reply

