Weekend Edition – Finding the Place Where Your Writing Gets Interesting

I love the reminder that we should write about things we are curious about rather than things we already know. I try to do that – things I know a bit about but definitely want to know more. It gives me an excuse to immerse myself in another world.

And as for using curiosity to explore what might be possible – that is so important. Check out the quote by Walt Disney near the end of the post.

Then there is the suggestion that conflict is good, and to have characters with some contradictions is good – after all – aren’t most people like that? That would probably explain the love-hate relationship I have with one of my most recent heroines Eloise from ‘The Secret Life of Eloise’ (due to be published in 2016). I started by not liking her much, but still feeling a strong sense of fascination that spurred me on to write her story. I ended up by finding a lot of her hidden depths and really liking her. Mostly…

Live to Write - Write to Live

Using Curiosity & Contradiction to Fuel Your Writing:

Follow your curiosity where it leads, to the edges of the reality you know, and beyond. Follow your curiosity where it leads, to the edges of the reality you know, and beyond.

This week, I had not one, but two, nuggets of writerly wisdom dropped into my lap. Even more fun, they were delivered in real time by real people via Twitter, of all places.

Just before lunch on Tuesday, the Grub Street Writing Center hit my inbox with an invitation to join a tweet chat happening that afternoon. For the uninitiated, a tweet chat is a coordinated group conversation that takes place on Twitter at a particular time. You can follow and participate in the conversation via the chat’s hashtag.  Anyway – long story short – I decided to attend the chat. (I was procrastinating on a deadline, so I thought – why not?)

Side Note: I have found that the easiest way to keep…

View original post 2,055 more words

2 thoughts on “Weekend Edition – Finding the Place Where Your Writing Gets Interesting

  1. Great point about curiosity helping immerse us in a world – the more questions you ask, the more answers you have, right? Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • That is so true! Thanks for sharing your great insights Jamie.
      One of the mysteries I’ve been trying to unravel lately is what happened to some of the french monks and monasteries during the french revolution. The more I look into it, the more I discover that the general superficial understanding of the subject does not tell the whole story – in fact it barely scratches the surface. In theory, all people in religious orders were told that their vows were no longer valid right near the beginning of the revolution, but in practice, some monasteries just continued as they always had been. So some were destroyed and the people displaced, and others weren’t (or held out for longer). It must have been a very strange and difficult time to be a priest, yet it is hard to nail what went on. Something I am trying to understand and imagine as I write my latest historical ‘Sebastien’s Penance’.

      Like

Leave a Reply

