Weekend Edition- Not What I Meant to Write Plus Memoir Musings

This is a brilliant post from Jamie Lee Wallace. Some of this is so similar to my own reflections recently. Even if we have days or even weeks when we don’t achieve the things we planned, we need to not beat ourselves up about it… We do more than we realise…
I particularly liked this quote:
“b) I was “getting off my ass” each and every day as I juggled parenting, freelancing, housekeeping, writing, and myriad other responsibilities and tasks. I was definitely not sitting around eating bon-bons and watching reality TV all day, so why was I beating myself up?”

Live to Write - Write to Live

This isn’t the post I was planning to write.

Make yourself a cup of something hot and tasty and sit back and relax. Make yourself a cup of something hot and tasty and sit back and relax.

You know that feeling when your life is humming along at a good clip with things falling into place almost as if by plan and then, out of nowhere, you find yourself bumped off the rails by something outside your control, and everything grinds to a halt?

A week ago I naively shared my excitement about a goal setting/productivity app called Balanced. I still love this app, but I should have listened to my superstitious self who told me not to get overly confident about how well I was doing at fitting all my want-to-do’s and should-do’s into my day. I really should have known better. No sooner were the words published than I began to feel a little under the weather. By the time Monday…

View original post 1,669 more words

2 thoughts on “Weekend Edition- Not What I Meant to Write Plus Memoir Musings

  1. Thanks for sharing, Emily. Sometimes life throws us curve balls. It’s better for us (and our writing) if we can adapt gracefully. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

